Govt’s creation of 28 states has let to an “impasse” on peace implementation: JMEC

Addis Ababa – In his speeches to the African Union summit in Addis Ababa, the Chairman of Join Monitoring and Evaluation Commission (JMEC), a body task of overseeing the implementation of the peace agreement in South Sudan, said the delays in forming a Transitional Government of National Unity(TGoNU) is caused by the government’s action to create and implement 28 States which were unilaterally established through Presidential Order in October last year, adding that its creates an impasse.

“The TGoNU has not been formed, in part, because of the Government’s action to create 28 new administrative states, replacing the 10 states that comprised South Sudan at independence in 2011 and which existed at the time of signature of the Agreement” Festus Mogae, the Chairman of JMEC and former Botswana President said in his speeches at the AU summit in Addis Ababa

He continued that “the Government’s action has led to an impasse and a challenge in sequencing the implementation of the Agreement: it refuses to agree to a new text for the transitional constitution that does not provide for 28 states; the SPLM/A (IO) refuses a text that states anything other than 10 states, and has so far ruled out formation of the TGoNU on the basis of the Agreement, which is based on 10 states”

Mr. Mogae told the African Head of States that “decisive actions” are required to be taken to realize peace in South Sudan and end of 2 years suffering of the South Sudanese people.

Mogae reminded the African leaders that “While the primary responsibility for keeping the peace will always be on South Sudanese shoulders, the African Union can exemplify African solidarity and stand with the ordinary people, and not with those who show wanton disregard for the wellbeing of their compatriots”

Categories: IGAD, News, Peace