Machar nominates 50 Assembly Members “from 10 state”

Pagak – In accordance with “Agreement on the Resolution of the conflict in the Republic of South Sudan (ARCRSS) also known as Compromised Peace Agreement (CPA-II), the First Vice President Designate Dr. Riek Machar has nominated the members to be added to the transitional parliament to be submitted to JMEC for consideration

Chapter 1 article 11 sub article 11.1 explains the expansions of the parliament after peace agreement and permit IO to nominate 50 members to be added to the “Transitional National Legislative Assembly”

“Effective no later than ninety (90) days from the signing of this Agreement, the National Legislative Assembly shall be expanded for the duration of the Transitional Period. The expanded Assembly shall be known as the Transitional National Legislative Assembly (TNLA), comprising of four hundred (400) members, including the prior three hundred and thirty two (332) members and an additional sixty – eight (68) representatives appointed according to the following criteria:
  • a. South Sudan Armed Opposition: fifty (50) members;
  • b. Former Detainees: one (1) member;
  • c. Other Political Parties: seventeen (17)members;”

In the nomination of the 50 members on the basis of 10 states on which the agreement was signed,  Machar gave Greater Upper Nile 24 members while Greater Equatoria and Bahr el Gazel takes 14 and 12 respectively.

Below is the distribution of the  members by states:

  1. Upper Nile – 9 members
  2. Jonglei – 8 members
  3. Unity – 7 members
  4. Eastern Equatoria – 5 members
  5. Central Equatoria – 4 members
  6. Western Equatoria – 5 members
  7. Northern Bahr el Gazel – 3 members
  8. Lake – 3 members
  9. Western Bahr el Gazel – 4 members and;
  10. Warrap – 2 members

Categories: News, Politics, South Sudan